Rollins College

Rollins College Honors Students During Commencement Ceremony on Mother's Day

May 04, 2009

Media contact: Ann Marie Varga, 407-646-2159

Graduates, parents, families, friends, faculty and staff packed the Warden Arena on Mother's Day, Sunday, May 10, for the commencement ceremony of the College of Arts & Sciences, during which nearly 350 graduates received diplomas.

Rollins President Lewis Duncan opened the ceremony and shared that most of these graduates started their Rollins careers in the first year of his presidency. “Together we weathered three hurricanes and got to know our new home in a very special way," Duncan said. "You went on to take part in the first Campus Movie Fest, the first Dance Marathon and were deeply involved in developing and implementing the Academic Honor Code. You reached out to children of Fern Creek Elementary, the homeless and the victims of Hurricane Katrina. You are indelibly a part of Rollins history.”

Highlights of the ceremony included the presentation of Honorary Doctorates of Humane Letters to poet Billy Collins and Michael Winston, president of The Alfred Harcourt Foundation. In addition, Professor of Modern Languages and former Dean of the Hamilton Holt School Patricia Lancaster, Professor of Anthropology Pedro Pequeno and Professor of History Gary Williams were elevated to “Emeritus” status.

Class of 2008 valedictorian, Joseph Patrick Kuhlman, who graduated with a perfect 4.0 GPA, encouraged his fellow graduates to give back to the world and shared the words of Mother Teresa: “It is not the magnitude of our actions but the amount of love that is put into them that matters.”

Former U.S. Poet Laureate Billy Collins addressed the crowd. Collins has published eight collections of poetry.

For the 2008-09 academic year, Rollins faculty received the following awards:

The Bornstein Award for Faculty Scholarship was awarded to Professor of Graduate Studies in Counseling Kathryn Norsworthy. Established by the Board of Trustees of Rollins College in 2003, the Bornstein Award recognizes a faculty member whose outstanding scholarly achievement or creative accomplishment has helped bring national prominence to the College. Named in honor of Rollins' thirteenth president, the award honors President Bornstein's leadership and contribution to the academic vitality of the College. Norsworthy will hold the title “Bornstein Faculty Scholar” for the 2007-08 academic year and will receive a cash stipend.

Three awards were established by the Board of Trustees of Rollins College in 2004 in honor of Rollins' beloved alumnus and longtime trustee George Cornell, whose generous recent bequest made the awards possible. Each recipient will receive a stipend. The awards recognize faculty members for outstanding teaching, research and/or service.
• Crummer professor Ted Veit received the Cornell Distinguished Faculty Award in the Crummer School.
• Professor of Environmental Studies Bruce Stephenson received the Cornell Distinguished Service Award.
• Professor of Anthropology Pedro Pequeno received the Cornell Distinguished Teaching Award.

Arthur Vining Davis Awards were presented to Assistant Professor of History Julian Chambliss, Assistant Professor of Theatre & Dance David Charles and Assistant Professor of International Business Marc Sardy.
Hugh and Jeannette McKean Grants were awarded to Associate Professor of Art Rachel Simmons and Associate Professor of Theatre & Dance Jennifer Cavenaugh.
Arthur Vining Davis Awards
-Jennifer Cavenaugh
-Kimberly Dennis
-Ilan Alon
Bornstein Award for Faculty Scholarship
-Thomas Moore
Cornell Distinguished Faculty in Crummer Award
-Jane Reimers
Cornell Distinguished Service Award:
-Wenxian Zhang
Cornell Distinguished Teaching Award
-J. Clay Singleton

©2009 Rollins College, 1000 Holt Ave., Winter Park, FL 32789  407.646.2000