Annie Russell Theatre

Current & Upcoming Shows

Learn more about current and upcoming shows at the Annie Russell Theatre, including show summaries, dates, and times.

Join our mailing list to enter a monthly drawing for two free tickets to our 19/20 season!
Follow this link to subscribe using our online form.
Season Subscription

Season Subscription

A season subscription includes one ticket to each of the four productions below. Why subscribe? A 20% discount, the best seats in the house, and our coveted Arts at Rollins Discount Passport. A subscription costs $65, with discounts available for seniors and students.

You can choose to attend the same performance for each show (for example, Opening Night). In this case, you'll have the same seat throughout the season. If you'd like to mix and match dates, choose our Annie Flex option. To purchase a subscription, visit our virtual box office or call (407) 646-2145. Individual tickets go on sale July 16th.

The Humans

The Humans

September 27 - October 5, 2019

 “I think it’s scary to be alive—but also exhilarating and joyful,” says playwright Stephen Karam. His worldview sets the stage for The Humans, at once a witty domestic comedy, intense family drama, and goose-pimply thriller. The Orlando premiere of this piercing and perceptive Pulitzer-Prize finalist and winner of the 2016 Best Play Tony Award opens our 2019-2020 season.

Dates & Times

Friday, September 27 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, September 28 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, September 29 at 4 p.m.
Wednesday, October 2 at 8 p.m.
Thursday, October 3 at 8 p.m.
Friday, October 4 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, October 5 at 2 p.m.
Saturday, October 5 at 8 p.m.

Written by Stephen Karam
Directed by Thomas Ouellette

Private Lies: Improvised Film Noir

Private Lies: Improvised Film Noir

November 15 - 23, 2019

Private Lies is set in the Prohibition era of hardboiled private detectives and intoxicating femmes fatales. The stakes are sky-high as our anti-hero Private Eye Richard Lies wrestles with personal demons and races against time as though the very fate of his Gotham-like city depends on it—because it does! Each performance of this longform improvisation is one-of-a-kind as audiences scramble to untangle motives and offer clues.

Dates & Times

Friday, November 15 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, November 16 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, November 17 at 4 p.m.
Wednesday, November 20 at 8 p.m.
Thursday, November 21 at 8 p.m.
Friday, November 22 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, November 23 at 2 p.m.
Saturday, November 23 at 8 p.m.

Created and Directed by David Charles

The Good Person of Setzuan

The Good Person of Setzuan

February 14 - 22, 2020

Bertolt Brecht transformed theatre in the 20th century, and Tony Kushner (Angels in America), one of the most compelling voices in contemporary American theatre, has crafted a treatment of Brecht’s masterwork that’s vitally connected to modern life. Good Person seeks to foment action and change. Brecht and Kushner ask if a truly good person can survive in a harsh and hurtful world.

Dates & Times

Friday, February 14 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, February 15 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, February 16 at 4 p.m.
Wednesday, February 19 at 8 p.m.
Thursday, February 20 at 8 p.m.
Friday, February 21 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, February 22 at 2 p.m.
Saturday, February 22 at 8 p.m.

Written by Bertolt Brecht
Translated by Wendy Arons
Adapted by Tony Kushner
Directed by Marianna DiQuattro

Mamma Mia!

Mamma Mia!

April 17 - 25, 2020

Our 2019-2020 season closes on a heavenly Greek island. Mamma Mia!, set to ABBA’s greatest hits, is a romantic and riotous story about the unbreakable bond between mother and daughter. Come for the intrigue and romance—but stay for “Dancing Queen” and “Take a Chance on Me!”

Dates & Times

Friday, April 17 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, April 18 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, April 19 at 4 p.m.
Wednesday, April 22 at 8 p.m.
Thursday, April 23 at 8 p.m.
Friday, April 24 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, April 25 at 2 p.m.
Saturday, April 25 at 8 p.m.

Music and Lyrics by Benny Andersson & Björn Ulvaeus
And some songs with Stig Anderson
Book by Catherine Johnson
Originally Conceived by Judy Craymer
Mamma Mia! was originally produced in London by Judy Craymer, Richard East, and Björn Ulvaeus for Littlestar in association with Universal.
Additional Material & Arrangements by Martin Koch
Music published by Universal Music Publishing Group and Emi Grove Park Music Inc. and Emi Waterford Music Inc.

Directed by Missy Barnes
Music Direction by Jason M. Bailey
Choreographed by Robin Gerchman